3 1/2 Time-Outs Fat Tuesday (Vol. 4)

Hosted by LarryD of AotA

Just like Conversion Diary's 7 Quick Takes, except it's half as long and twice as good.

1

I’ve been benched from running track ever since I developed hamstring tendonitis a few weeks ago. I started, unknowingly, with a weak arch in my left foot which led to the tendonitis as well as pelvic rotation problems. Then, compensating for tendonitis got me into problems with my left knee. With physical therapy my hamstring has loosened up and my pelvic rotation is corrected but I’m still dealing with an unstable arch and a bum knee. In the meantime I’ve taken up training for . . . rock climbing.

I have very little experience with rock climbing or the types of exercise that the training requires but I’m excited to try something new. When I started training my max-out for pull-ups was only 5 and, while that’s more than many people can do, I also have a very light build (long-distance runner) so its not like I’m lifting very much.

My first excursion is in two weeks. Its gonna be legen – and I hope no one reading this is lactose intolerant because the second half of this word is – dairy! Legendary!

2

US Joint Chiefs of Staff Chairman General Martin Dempsey made news this week by calling an Israeli-led attack on Iran in the near future “destabilizing” and “not prudent.” Which is great because its in our best interest and, probably the world’s at large, that we do not go to war with Iran – especially when Russia and China have both threatened to come to aid Iran against us. However, Israel denounced General Dempsey, calling him a servant of Iran. Unfortunately, this is too common a reaction, not just abroad but here at home, whenever anyone opposes Israel. Israel is a secular state and not the sacred God’s people that so many Americans make them out to be. We are all God’s people. Instead, Israel should be treated like any other sovereign ally. We should respect them and collaborate – but ultimately we need to do what is in our best interest and right now that means not instigating a war with Iran.

Israel disagrees, however, as their Deputy Prime Minister Moshe Yaalon explicitly called the Obama administration“hesitant” in their unwillingness to attack, which was followed by a warning only a day later by the nation’s Foreign Minister Avigdor Lieberman, in which he urged the US to “move from words to deeds.” Sorry, Israel, but America has enough war on its hands and, as a sovereign nation, you step over the line of authority when you demand that we fight your battles for you. I hope our leadership doesn’t cave to Israel’s demands, or their lobbyist arm, AIPAC, because we cannot afford another decade of war entrenched in the Middle East.

3

Ron Paul has a new ad slamming Santorum. It states, “Santorum voted to raise the debt ceiling five times, double the size of the Department of Education, then supported the biggest entitlement expansion since the ‘60s.” That, I was aware of. However, also in the ad, Santorum is alleged to have voted in favor of outfitting former North Korea leader Kim Jong Il with financial aid, as well as offering support to the government of Egypt. Elsewhere, the Senator is linked to okaying millions in funding for Planned Parenthood, despite openly opposing abortion. I’ve heard the Planned Parenthood allegations before but I haven’t seen proof (I also haven’t looked yet); if anyone knows more about this I’d be interested in hearing more.

3 1/2 

I’m too tired and busy to come up with a 3 1/2 so Calvin will see you out.

One thought on “3 1/2 Time-Outs Fat Tuesday (Vol. 4)

Leave a Reply

